The Shoestring Catch


Updates
May 29, 2009, 12:46 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:

The Expenses page now has awesome pie charts for you visual learners out there. I highly recommend you check them out.

More importantly, everyone needs to look at the updated Meet Us page for information on my blog administrator and wonderful girlfriend, Stephanie. Stephanie designed this entire blog and maintains it for us back at the home base in Houston, TX.



Fraud
May 29, 2009, 12:35 am
Filed under: Uncategorized

Wells Fargo Fraud Division called my house today to check on my recent credit card activity. I guess charging hundreds of dollars worth of baseball tickets on one day looks a bit suspicious. This was just a false alarm, but I do like it when people do their jobs.



And the rest of you, just rattle your jewelry
May 29, 2009, 12:14 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

There were four tickets I knew I would have to pre-order no matter what– convenience charges and service fees be damned. It would be arrogance bordering on hubris to expect that I could just walk up to the gate on game day and get reasonably priced tickets for the Cubs, Mets, Yankees, or Red Sox.

I was a bit surprised, but I was able to secure three of the cheapest Mets tickets available on Mets.com. A Promenade Reserve ticket will run you $19, but after fees it is actually a $26.50 ticket. I was also able to get reasonably priced Yankees tickets ($21.00 a piece after fees), but at Stub Hub, not Yankees.com. Apparently there were some $5 tickets released for this game, but I don’t know who you had to be to get them; I tried on a whim back in early April, but to no avail.

As a joke I checked Cubs.com and Redsox.com for tickets. The Cubs were kind enough to offer a single $325 Dug Out Box ticket, while the Red Sox website just crashed my computer. The cheapest tickets on Stub Hub (for three seats together) were $73.16 a piece for Cubs and $62.00 each for Red Sox– after fees, shipping, and gouging. The face value of our Cubs tickets is $16.00 and the face of the Red Sox tickets is $25.00. I guess this is simply how the world works, but 450% and 248% mark ups just hurt my feelings.

Note: Although I have already purchased these tickets, I am going to hold off posting them on the expenses page until their game days.