The Shoestring Catch


And the rest of you, just rattle your jewelry
May 29, 2009, 12:14 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,

There were four tickets I knew I would have to pre-order no matter what– convenience charges and service fees be damned. It would be arrogance bordering on hubris to expect that I could just walk up to the gate on game day and get reasonably priced tickets for the Cubs, Mets, Yankees, or Red Sox.

I was a bit surprised, but I was able to secure three of the cheapest Mets tickets available on Mets.com. A Promenade Reserve ticket will run you $19, but after fees it is actually a $26.50 ticket. I was also able to get reasonably priced Yankees tickets ($21.00 a piece after fees), but at Stub Hub, not Yankees.com. Apparently there were some $5 tickets released for this game, but I don’t know who you had to be to get them; I tried on a whim back in early April, but to no avail.

As a joke I checked Cubs.com and Redsox.com for tickets. The Cubs were kind enough to offer a single $325 Dug Out Box ticket, while the Red Sox website just crashed my computer. The cheapest tickets on Stub Hub (for three seats together) were $73.16 a piece for Cubs and $62.00 each for Red Sox– after fees, shipping, and gouging. The face value of our Cubs tickets is $16.00 and the face of the Red Sox tickets is $25.00. I guess this is simply how the world works, but 450% and 248% mark ups just hurt my feelings.

Note: Although I have already purchased these tickets, I am going to hold off posting them on the expenses page until their game days.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

