The Shoestring Catch


6/12 Wrigley Field/ Cubs Game
June 12, 2009, 10:28 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized
What a View

What a View

It was a gorgeous sunny day in Chicago, but it was still cold in the shade.  Our seats at Wrigley were the highest up and furthest back down the third baseline in the park, and the sun never touched us.  The lack of sun, the location of our seats, the pole blocking our view, my hatred of the Cubs, and the fact that these were the most expensive tickets of the whole trip combined to really hamper my enjoyment of Wrigley Field.  I was led to believe that Wrigley was a magical place where the beer flows like wine– and maybe it is in some spots, but it isn’t in section 503 at $73.12 a seat.  If I ever return to Wrigley, I want to sit in the outfield bleachers.  Everyone out there was having a great time, and I bet they weren’t cold.

In spite of all the inconveniences, we still got to see a great baseball game.  Today marked the first time the Minnesota Twins had ever played at Wrigley.  Our section was predominately populated by Minnesotans who had made the trek down from Minneapolis to watch this historic occasion, and sitting with the Twins fans suited me just fine.  When I go to Cubs-Astros games at Minute Maid Park the Cubs fans usually outnumber the Astros fans, so it was nice to see the Cubbies get a little dose of their own medicine.  The guy sitting next to me claimed that all flights between Minneapolis and Chicago were booked solid because of the series.  I’m not sure if I believe him, but it does make a nice anecdote.

Starter Kevin Slowey tossed a gem and Joe Nathan pitched a perfect ninth to nail down the victory for the Twins, but the star of this game was Cubs right fielder Milton Bradley.  The always entertaining Bradley let a ball he lost in the sun drop 15 ft in front of him and turned a single into a double by diving for a ball and missing it.  For his coup de grace Milton caught the second out of the sixth inning and, thinking it was the third out, threw the ball into the stands.  After this final slipup, some of the scattered Cubs fans in our section stood up and shouted, “go back to Scrabble!”  I considered pointing out that Scrabble is actually a Hasbro game, but I decided against it.

I was surprised that Wrigley does not have a jumbotron.  I suppose this makes sense for a team and park that values tradition so much that they didn’t install lights until 1988, but as a modern-day fan, I found the lack of a screen made it more difficult to interact with the game.  For example, Kenney Chesney sang Take Me Out to the Ballgame during the seventh inning stretch, but since I wasn’t paying attention to the PA announcement introducing him, (and because my seat was so bad) I didn’t know who was singing until the song was over.  This wouldn’t happen at any other park because Kenny Chesney’s face would be plastered all over the video screen.  I guess this is just another one of Wrigley’s little quirks that I find more annoying than charming.

Us at Wrigley

Us at Wrigley

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Hey dude I’m loving this blog. I ran into Mona in Cairo and she told me about your summer. I officially hate you and want to trade lives w/ya. Keep it up, it’s great writing!

Comment by Brad Gray

So…what happened?

Comment by Chris




Leave a Reply

