The Shoestring Catch


Fenway Park 6/5
June 10, 2009, 4:40 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: ,
Liam at Fenway!

Catching a game at Fenway Park is the closest thing to a religious experience I have had on this trip. I am not a Red Sox fan, but being in that cramped ballpark screaming and cheering and singing Sweet Caroline sent chills down my spine. It was cold and drizzling the whole night, but the park was packed from first pitch to last.

I blew my no-purchases-at-a-game policy out of the water for this one, but it was worth it. I had a Fenway Frank, a souvenir soda, and ice cream in a bowl shaped like a Red Sox batting helmet. The cup and bowl will probably end up as my only souvenirs from the entire trip, so I cherish them.

We had the misfortune of sitting directly behind some unruly Texas Rangers fans at the game. Three of them were nice enough, but one of the guys, a 21 year old junior from Fort Worth attending Boston University, screamed and yelled the entire time. At one point he tried to get into an altercation with Andrew, but we are above such nonsense. I don’t have any problems with someone rooting for their team in an opposing ballpark, but this kid was completely out of line. The worst part was that he gave the Boston fans a bad impression of people from my great State of Texas. We tried to apologize for his conduct on behalf of Texas, but it was difficult. At one point an usher asked him to sit down and stop swearing, to which he replied, “I’m being harassed!” We all burst out laughing because if anything, he was harassing everyone around him. Actually, Eric burst out laughing because he thought the kid’s reasoning for not sitting down was “I have a rash!” We corrected him later. I was impressed with how well the Boston fans tolerated his misbehavior; I honestly thought somebody was going to curb stomp him, especially after the Rangers won the game. The surrounding patrons did taunt him back, but nothing too out of line. At one point a group of girls sitting behind us started chanting “Swine Flu! Swine Flu!” at him and the rest of his Texan pals. I alternated between thinking this was hilarious and horribly inappropriate.

Although I remember that little prick better than any other aspect of the game, just being at the park was a wonderful experience. If you are a true baseball fan, you have to go to Fenway Park. Trust me, you won’t regret it.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

