The Shoestring Catch


Washington D.C.
May 30, 2009, 4:09 am
Filed under: Uncategorized
Lincoln Memorial view of Washington Monument

Lincoln Memorial view of Washington Monument

Kendra took us into Washington D.C. this morning around 10:00AM. We did a lightning tour of the monuments, memorials, and a few of the museums before we had to get back to Silver Spring so we could head to Baltimore for our Orioles game. I have not been to D.C. since I was 15, so the World War II monument was new to me. It is a top notch memorial. I took some pictures of it for my grandfather who served in Europe.

When I asked Kendra what time we should drive into D.C. so that we would avoid rush hour but still get to see everything we wanted, she gave me an inquisitive look and replied, “oh, you want to drive? I always just take the metro.” Public transportation is such a foreign concept to this Texan that I often forget it exists. Austin has a decent bus system, but Houston’s “light rail” is a joke, and we don’t have anything that passes for a subway in our entire great state. We rode the metro from Silver Spring straight to the Mall– it was wonderful. I have to remember this trick for other stops on the road trip.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

