The Shoestring Catch


Maryland Beers
May 30, 2009, 5:49 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags:
Quarry House Tavern

Quarry House Tavern

We did all of our drinking on this leg of the trip at the Quarry House Tavern in Silver Spring, MD. It bills itself as “Silver Spring’s favorite dive for over 70 years”. I don’t feel comfortable speaking for an entire city, but I certainly thought it was a quality establishment. The Quarry House is a basement bar with low ceilings and lower lighting that attracts an upper 20s to lower 30s crowd. There were some hipsters and colorful characters, but the bar was mostly packed with young professionals. On this particular Friday night there was no space available at the bar and all of the tables were filled with patrons enjoying their favorite brews and the company of good friends.

The Quarry House only has five beers on tap, none of which are local. This greatly disappointed me, and I thought about leaving… until I realized they had a bottled beer selection over 150 strong. I felt a bit like a kid in a candy store. I wanted to try everything, including some pricey Beligan brews, but I stuck to my guns and picked out only local beers to sample. I had two pints, both from the Clipper City Brewing Company, which is based out of Baltimore.

My first beer was the Loose Cannon IPA. It was a strong beer (7.5%) but I did not find it particularly hoppy for an IPA. I could definitely taste some subtle fruity flavors. It was a good beer, but nothing to get too excited about. The other beer I had was the Marzen Lager. This beer was rather average, but almost all lagers are, aren’t they? One of the most exciting things about this bar experience was the beer temperature. Different styles of beer should be served at different temperatures, but few bars I have been to bother with this (especially with bottles). My lager was ice-cold, while my IPA was significantly warmer (as it should be). It was a nice touch that I was not expecting from a “dive bar”.

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

OH no! Did you let Liam drink? He’s underage!

Comment by Stephanie




Leave a Reply

